SITEMAP       CONTACT USTwitterFacebookInstagram

Patient-Centred Care Awards

October 2019  

   On October 16, Prairie Mountain Health (PMH) presented the first Health Innovation awards for Patient-Centred Care. This award, presented on be-half of PMH and Shared Health, recognizes initiatives that directly resulted in positive improvements to processes, clinical approaches and the culture of patient-centred care.

     The first award recipient, the Brandon Regional Health Centre (BRHC) Hemodialysis Unit, used creative solutions to expand capacity for hemodialysis patients in order to meet a growing need. Demand for hemodialysis treatment was greater than their physical capacity would accommodate so they needed to develop creative solutions to accommodate these care needs. The BRHC Hemodialysis Unit decided to optimize the use of available resources by offering hemodialysis on Sundays, when the Renal Unit was usually not in use.

     The team worked with other departments to implement the changes required to support this initiative, which allowed them to provide care to 18 more patients in their unit. This model of care may be beneficial for other hemodialysis units in PMH and Manitoba to consider.

     The second award recipient, Cindy Parypa, was instrumental in moving the principles of Patient-Centred Care forward. In 2016, Cindy began leading an initiative to ensure the needs and perspectives of patients and their families are at the centre of care provided in PMH. Through this initiative, Cindy developed resources that have been foundational to provincial work on Patient-Centred Care, which helped to outline ways that staff and organizations can effectively engage clients and families.

     In addition to the two award winners, honourable mentions were provided to Carla Genik and Nicole Berkvens for their active participation in patient- centred care on a daily basis.

Kim Wallis web

Kim Wallis, left accepts a Health Innovation Award from Gerry Walker.


Cindy P web

Cindy Parypa, left accepts a Health Innovation Award from Gerry Walker.