Board of Directors

Board of Governance

Prairie Mountain Health operates under the direction of a 9-member Board of Directors.  This Board is appointed by, and accountable to the Minister of Health, Seniors and Active Living.  Responsibility of the Board includes the mandate, resources and performance of the health authority.  As such, members must represent the region as a whole, not any particular community or interests.

The Board’s role is to ensure the organization’s accountability by monitoring and evaluating its performance and by interacting and communicating with the public, stakeholders and partners.

Board memebers represent a broad cross-section of geographical areas, interests, experience and expertise. It is expected that members also share a strong sense of commitment to achieving the provincial vision of healthy Manitobans through an appropriate balance of prevention and care.

The Prairie Mountain Health Board of Directors must ensure that the organization complies with applicable legislation, regulations, provincial policies and Ministerial directives.


Meet our Board of Directors




Catheryn Pedersen webCatheryn Pederson - Chair

Catheryn worked most of her career in the life insurance industry: she was Training Manager for Great West Life Assurance and later Brokerage Administrator for Metropolitan Life.

Catheryn has worked as a volunteer in health care in a variety of aspects including palliative care and health auxiliary. Catheryn lost her husband to ALS in 2009. She was his primary caregiver for 5 years which put her in the position of working with the entire medical community.  Since moving to Holland, Manitoba, she has become involved with the local Community Foundation, Community Development, Lioness Club, sits on various other committees and boards including her Church.  Her children and grandchildren live in B.C. whom she visits as often as she can.

Catheryn has a deep respect for the work, objectives and challenges that Prairie Mountain Health faces.


















Dean Dietrich webDean Dietrich

Dean and his wife Marilyn live in Neepawa. Dean is employed as the Purchasing Officer at HyLife Foods LP in Neepawa. Dean is very involved in the community. He has served over 15 years as councilor for the Town of Neepawa. Other community involvement included chair of the Assiniboine Regional Health Authority 2008-2012, past Board Member for the Marquette RHA, member of ARHA District Health Advisory Council, Chair of the Beautiful Plains Health Services Board leading to regionalization, Past President on the Neepawa and District Chamber of Commerce, Past Chair of Community Futures Westman, along with founding member and past chair of Tourism Westman. Dean continues to serve the community as Chair of the Public Safety Committee of councilwhich includes Police Services, Fire Department and Neepawa Veterinary Services. Dean’s strong interest in community wellness has developed through his broad experience in community development and community involvement.

Barry French webBarry French

Barry lives in Stockton and works as Staff Training Coordinator-Brandon Correctional Centre . Over the years he has given of his time as Past Volunteer Firefighter – Pinawa; Past Vice Chair Pinawa Chamber of Commerce; Past Chair Westman-Interprovincial Association on Native Employment(WIANE); Treasurer Gang Disempowerment Committee of Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council; etc. Barry lives with his wife Annastasia and together they have a blended family of 6 children. He has lived and worked in Ireland on the family farm and other jobs for 13 years, and owned a small town general store in Pinawa. Barry feels that being a part of the PMH board is an excellent opportunity to give back to the community which has supported and helped him on many occasions. Barry brings his many years of experience in working on multi-cultural committees as well as task oriented committees and has a certificate in managing in Government.

Jonathan Murray webJonathan Murray

Jonathan was born and raised in Brandon and graduated from Brandon University in 2007 with a Bachelor of Business Administration. In 2009 he received his Chartered Accountants designation from the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Manitoba. He is currently the Controller at TL Penner Construction in Virden. Jonathan’s interest in healthcare is ensuring that the money being received by the Province is being spent in a way that provides the highest level of care for patients while at the same time being aligned with the priorities set down by government. Jonathan has served as a Provincial Advisory board member for the Heart & Stroke Foundation of Canada and has served as a board member for Brandon Crime Stoppers. 


















Wanda SandyWanda Sandy

Wanda resides in Canupawakpa Dakota Nation where she is originally from. She is currently employed as the Health Director for CDN – Health Services where she has worked since November 2005. Wanda currently holds the volunteer position of Illegal Drug Coordinator for Canupawakpa.

Wanda has a passion for learning and has attained her education from numerous academic locations. She received her Bachelor of Arts with a Major in Native Studies and a Minor in Psychology from Brandon University. While attending Thunder Bay Confederation College she received her Law & Security Administration Diploma.   She also received her Community Social Development Certificate from Assiniboine Community College. She continues to further her education, and recently received Certification from First Nations Health Manager Association of Ottawa.

Wanda lived in Vancouver, BC for 10 years and worked for a Provincial Aboriginal Women’s Organization. She started as a Volunteer, worked as a Loss Prevention Officer, then became the Assistant to the Executive Director, was appointed by the Board to Acting Executive Director then became Executive Director.  Previous work experience includes working casually for CDN Education as a Dakota Language Instructor/ Teacher’s Aide. She was also worked casually as an Aboriginal Liaison Coordinator for Burnaby Correctional Centre for Women.

Past volunteer work includes being a Board Member for Burnaby Correctional Centre for Women, Committee member for Female Offender Advisory Committee and First Nations Breast Cancer Society of BC. Currently she is the Chair for the Aboriginal Liaison Committee (comprised of 7 Health Directors of former ARHA).

Wanda believes in giving back to her community and has volunteered as a committee member for education, housing, pow wows and community fundraisers.

In Wanda’s free time she enjoys time with family – especially her grandchildren, making star quilts, powwows and dancing (traditional women’s category).  Her spirituality, her Dakota language and traditions are all important parts of her life.

Wanda is enjoying her work with the PMH Board – one of her focuses in on partnership and collaborative approaches in addressing gaps in health care, with First Nations, Health Canada and Manitoba Health. 


 Directors with photos and bios coming soon:

    Lorne Henkelman, Vice Chair  (Swan River)                                
    Cheryl Bjornson  (Ste. Rose du Lac)                                
    Gwendolyn Drul  (Oakburn)                                
    Murray Parrott  (Franklin)                                
    Duane Whyte (Swan River)